Plant A Garden

May 7, 2010 at 5:26 pm 2 comments

I have been reading about food and the differences between organic fruits and vegetables as well as grass fed beef vs. grain fed. After doing all this reading I decided to make some changes to our diet and it has been an expensive modification. An easy way to put more money in your pocket is to plant a garden.

My garden is in the front of my house. I have a dwarf Navel orange tree, a dwarf Meyer lemon tree, three tomato plants, three squash plants, two red bell peppers, two jalapeno, green beans and various herbs. It is rewarding to go out to my garden and pick my own produce. I feel like I’m getting paid and in a way I am, I’m not spending money to buy those items at the grocery store.

If space is an issue tuck some tomato plants in amongst your flowers. All tomatoes require is full sun. They are an easy plant to grow and the flavor of a fresh picked tomato is worth the small effort it takes to plant it.

If you have any questions about starting a small garden leave comments and I will answer them to the best of my ability.

Entry filed under: Commentary, News, Nutrition. Tags: , , .

Watch “Food, Inc.”

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathleen  |  May 8, 2010 at 7:28 am

    Since I will be seeing you in a week…I can ask then! It’s funny, things are settling down here now with Trent being almost a year and Presley 3 so I have begun to work in our overgrown and neglected garden and I LOVE IT!! Have no idea what I am doing though…

    Reply
  • 2. fromthefarm  |  July 7, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Norma, I enjoy going to my local farmers market too. We have changed our blog URL to http://www.fromthefarm.com/blog. Those fritters on your blog look delicious. I love Puerto Rican food.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


TwitterRSS

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

FoodieBlogRoll

CookEatShare


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

