Food Snob

August 4, 2009 at 6:17 am 3 comments

Pie

I have frequently been called a food snob. Actually, I’m from a family of food snobs. As I was growing up my mother never made anything from a box. She always said it was because of my dad, but I think it was her. She is an excellent home cook and it is because of her that I have such high standards.

Many times, too many to count, I have been let down by the value of store bought baked goods. It is infuriating to me to spend hard earned money on something I’ve eaten only to think I could have made it better myself.

This weekend I had chance to sample a hand crafted apple pie from Willamette Valley Fruit Company. As pies go apple is okay, but definitely not my first choice when berry or cherry are available. Although, after eating this apple pie I would have to rethink that.

When it arrived it was still frozen. I followed the instructions on the box which were very user friendly.  I did exactly as the directions instructed and I had a pie of golden perfection. The crust was was crisp and flakey, even on the bottom. I was impressed by that. The pie was filled with fruit. The apple slices were thick and tender. I couldn’t have made it better myself.

Being a food snob I was skeptical, but it was one of the best pies I’ve ever tasted. Don’t take my word for it. Try one for yourself. I think you’ll be astounded at the homemade like qualities of the pies from Willamette Valley Fruit Company.  No one ever has to know that you didn’t make it yourself.

REMINDER:  Holiday’s are right around the corner.  Order your pies now.

If you are interested in Willamette Valley Fruit Company and how they got started just click on the link to read more about them. Check out their wide variety of pies and cobblers.  I am going to try the marion berry next.  I can’t wait.

Entry filed under: Commentary, Reviews/Opinion. Tags: , , , , .

Meat and Potatoes Kinda Girl Passionate

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beth Wilson  |  August 4, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    Darci is right about that pie. I stopped by her house (I’m her sister) & she had me try the pie. Like her apple is not my first choice, but all I can say is WOW! that pie was amazing.

    Reply
    • 2. fromthefarm  |  August 4, 2009 at 8:44 pm

      My sister is a food snob too. Thanks for the comment, Beth.

      Reply
  • 3. Brett  |  August 5, 2009 at 3:16 am

    This pie is great for breakfast!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


TwitterRSS

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

FoodieBlogRoll

CookEatShare


