Lapin Cherries

August 13, 2009 at 12:54 am 2 comments

This past weekend I had an eighteenth birthday party for my niece.  All of the family was there, about 20 of us total.  That day I received a box of the largest cherries I have ever seen. Of course, I shared them with my family members.  I was telling them about a FromTheFarm grower, Glacier Farms in Montana.  As I was talking with my uncle about the cherries he tells me this story about this trip he had taken to Flathead Lake in Montana. He goes on the say that there were these amazing cherry orchards around this gorgeous lake and it was at this point that I realized that the Glacier Farms cherries were from the same orchards he was talking about.

The cherries I received were Lapin cherries.  They are large,  9.5 to 8.5 row size (this means BIG).  As for color they are a deep burgundy, almost black.  The texture is crisp and juicy. The taste is sweet and addictive.

I know I should post some recipes I made with the cherries, but we ate them all before I could. (see the addictive part above)

He who likes cherries soon learns to climbGerman Proverb

Entry filed under: Commentary, Reviews/Opinion. Tags: , , , , , , .

With A Cherry on Top Sunday Breakfast-Buttermilk Biscuits

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cristal  |  August 23, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Cherries are my favorite fruit and I’m always bummed the season is so darn short. I’m sure I would LOVE Lapin cherries! Makes me think of the Rainier cherries my dad would bring home from work — hauling produce. They were quite a bit larger than Bings. I’m glad Dad’s retired, but I sure do miss the Rainiers and the Fuji apples from Washingon state.

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah  |  August 31, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    Hm. I don’t know if I can forgive the lack of a cherry recipe. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


TwitterRSS

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

FoodieBlogRoll

CookEatShare


