Quail Eggs

August 24, 2009 at 1:19 am 3 comments

In continuing with my breakfast theme, I am moving into the egg category. I love eggs. I eat at least three a week.

I have recently tried something new, quail eggs. At first I was reluctant to try them. They were different, small and speckled. They didn’t look like chicken eggs, but they were so cute. My daughter told me that each hen lays a characteristic pattern and color on each shell which I verified. Google is awesome, but I digress. My first attempt at cooking the quail eggs was a success. I gently cracked the shell on the counter and shallowly inserted scissors to cut the shell. I didn’t want to break the yolk. I was rewarded with a beautiful, tiny egg that had a yolk that was double the size of the white. I fried up a couple and my boys devoured them instantly.fried quail eggsMy second attempt was to cook the quail eggs in a manner other than frying.  I settled on baking them.  I read one recipe that said to use a muffin pan but I only wanted to make a few not a whole dozen.  I decided that ramekins or oven safe bowls were the way to go.  So I buttered up three ramekins as well as sliced some tomato to lay down as a base for the quail eggs.

quail eggs in ramekins with tomatoPreheat the oven to 350 degrees. Salt and pepper the quail eggs to taste. Place ramekins or oven safe bowls on a cookie sheet. Place in the oven. Bake until set, approximately 15 minutes. Gently press on the eggs to make sure they are thoroughly cooked. Once the eggs are done remove them from the oven and allow them to cool five minutes. Gently run a knife around the edge of the ramekin/bowl. Allow the egg to slide out onto a plate or piece of buttered toast. Garnish with some chive, parsley or basil.

quail eggs with tomato on toast

I used a garlic, sourdough bread for the toast. A perfect way to start the morning, a couple of quail eggs on toast and a cup of strong coffee.  My ideal breakfast.

I’m sure you are probably wondering where I got quail eggs.  One of the growers with FromTheFarm.com., Turnbull Farms, sent some to me so I could try them and tell you what I thought.  What I think is that quail eggs are little bundles of culinary joy. The yolks are large and buttery and they make the most adorable hard boiled eggs.

quail eggIf you would like some more information about Turnbull Farms go to FromThe Farm.com and click on “Growers” to read the bio.

I have more tips on how to prepare quail eggs. I would be happy to talk with you and pass on any knowledge that I might have. Please comment or ask any questions.

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Commentary, Recipes, Reviews/Opinion. Tags: , , , , .

Sunday Breakfast-Buttermilk Biscuits Buttermilk Pancakes

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rebecca Ward  |  August 26, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    I eat eggs almost every day! The recipe with poached eggs looks good. Is there any nutritional difference in quail eggs than chicken eggs?

    Reply
    • 2. Zach Turnbull  |  August 28, 2009 at 4:12 pm

      I am the producer of these eggs and I have looked into nutritional info. The main problem I have had with coming up with definite numbers has been that all the info is for a quail egg of 9grams. All of my eggs generally range from 12-14grams. I can tell you everything is going to be slightly higher though, as you have a larger yolk ratio then in a standard chicken egg. You can find the information in a lot of places if you google it but keep in mind that mine are larger and that there will be subtle difference like the fact that I add flax seed to my quail feed to boost omega 3 value in the eggs. I hope this helps… you and anyone else are more then welcome to contact me with any further questions.

      Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  August 31, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    I love the pictures! The photo with the eggs on the toast made me want to try the recipe today; alas, I have no quail eggs. 😦
    I look forward to reading the next blog. In the meantime, I have some catching up to do as this is the first post I have read.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


TwitterRSS

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

FoodieBlogRoll

CookEatShare


