Buttermilk Pancakes

September 1, 2009 at 11:50 pm 5 comments

I love the weekends at my house because my husband makes breakfast.  It’s something he has always done.  In fact, I have never made the pancake recipe I’m about to share with you . That’s right, I’ve never made it. I have even used that as my excuse when he asks me to make them, occasionally. I say “I don’t know how”. He just rolls his eyes. Although I have never made this recipe I have eaten it too many times to count.

A few years ago we started a quest for a “new” pancake recipe. We wanted one that tasted similar to what you get in a restaurant. You know what I mean, right? A pancake with a fluffy, light texture and a buttery taste. You always say to yourself “Why don’t mine taste like this?” We tried one recipe after another. Some were too sweet, too tough in texture or too thick. Nothing short of perfection would satisfy us. Finally, several recipes later, EUREKA! We found one that could deliver all we wanted in a pancake. It was easy to make, fluffy, thin, not too sweet, light, airy and tender.

Buttermilk Pancakes

2 cups flour

2 tablespoons sugar, brown sugar can be substituted

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

2 1/4 cups buttermilk

1/4 cup milk

1/4 cup butter, melted

Whisk together all of the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Make a well in the center. Set aside.

P8310034In a separate bowl beat the eggs, buttermilk, milk, and melted butter. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients. Stir gently, just to blend. Batter should be lumpy and thick. Do not over mix! This is the secret to tender pancakes. Allow batter to rest for 7 minutes.

P8310035P8310037

Heat a  lightly oiled griddle or pan over medium-high heat.  Use a 1/4 cup measurement for the batter.  Pour batter on to the heated griddle.  Cook until bubbles cover the surface of the pancake and remain open. Flip over gently and cook until golden brown.

P8310038

P8310040Serve with butter and maple syrup, fruit syrup or homemade jam.  I like to eat them with a fine sprinkle of powdered sugar.

P8310041P8310047Helpful Tip: Freeze leftover cooked pancakes on a cookie sheet.  When they are completely frozen put the pancakes into a storage container and freeze up to a month.  These are easily reheated in the microwave at 50% power for 2 minutes.

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Recipes. Tags: , .

Quail Eggs Easy Apple Strudel

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  September 2, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    We have a pancake war that has raged in our home for decades. At the moment, and based solely upon the undeveloped tastebuds of ungrateful children that don’t know any better, my husband is winning, but I pay no mind because the stand I take is on moral ground – pancakes should be light and fluffy and not dense enough to feel like a discus in your stomach.

    The best pancake recipe I’ve found is from Marion Cunningham’s The Breakfast Book. It also calls for melted butter as yours does, so I’m wondering if that is the secret. I’ll have to try your, or should I say your husband’s, recipe and let you know if I should change my battleplan. 😉

    Oh! To add to your tip . . . we also freeze left over pancakes, but we pop them in the toaster instead of the microwave. It keeps them from getting soggy.

    Reply
    • 2. fromthefarm  |  September 2, 2009 at 1:18 pm

      Sarah, Thanks for the comments and the toaster tip. I hope you win the war because pancakes should definitely be light and fluffy.

      Reply
  • 3. Anne Soldano  |  September 2, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    He looked really good at doing his pancakes. When I come up there he will have to make some of his pancakes. And the jam looked really good, is that some from the farm. Or is that some you made. Anne

    Reply
  • 4. Rebecca Ward  |  September 8, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    I’ll have to share the recipe with Jimmy. That is his comfort food and weakness!

    Reply
  • 5. Beth Wilson  |  September 9, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    It is very important to not to over mix them. As Tim discovered this weekend. They still tasted good, just flat, flat, flat!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


TwitterRSS

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

FoodieBlogRoll

CookEatShare


