Easy Apple Strudel

September 12, 2009 at 10:19 pm 3 comments

Only nine days left until the official start of fall. One of the reasons I love fall is because it is also the beginning of apple season. Every year around the middle of September my family and I go up to the foot hills to pick apples. We picnic, eat caramel apples and gorge ourselves on apple turnovers. I’m sure you’re thinking we must make ourselves sick and you’re right we do. It is our way of celebrating fall and continuing an annual tradition.

The Easy Apple Strudel recipe is very easy to make, hence the name Easy Apple Strudel. I pretty much like to eat the strudel all day long.  I start with some in the morning because it is great for breakfast.  Then I have some with lunch, I count it as a “fruit”. Finally, after I eat dinner I have it for dessert. So you can see it is a multipurpose food. Even my kids like it although they say they don’t like baked goods with fruit. Whatever, kids.

Easy Apple Strudel

Crust:

2 1/2 cups flour

1 tablespoon sugar

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup butter, softened

1 egg yolk and milk to make 2/3 cup, lightly beaten

Place all of the ingredients in the bowl of an electric mixer.  Blend on medium speed until all ingredients are combined. Divide dough in half. Roll out half the dough on a well floured surface. Place it in a 15×10 inch jelly roll pan.Strudel DoughBottom half of strudel doughApple Filling:

5 cups peeled and sliced apples, any type of firm apple, I prefer golden delicious

1 cup sugar

1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

2 tablespoons flour

1 egg white, lightly beaten

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Combine all of the ingredients except the egg white. Pour over the bottom crust. Roll out the rest of the dough and place on the top of the apple mixture. Brush the top of the dough with the egg white. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until golden brown and fruit is bubbling from the sides.apple peeler, corer, slicerapples covering bottom crust

Ready to go in oven.

Glaze:

1 cup powdered sugar

2-4 tablespoons milk

Mix together and drizzle over warm crust.

Easy Apple Strudel

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Dessert, Recipes. Tags: , , , .

Buttermilk Pancakes Picking Apples

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  September 14, 2009 at 12:14 am

    I had apple pie for breakfast this morning. My daughter made it yesterday. I have to agree, apple pie or apple strudel make the perfect breakfast food. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Anne  |  September 15, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    I will have to make that recipe for the ladies that come to my house for bunco or bridge. I looks really good especially the glaze over the top.

    Reply
  • 3. Anne  |  September 27, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    I love the recipe for Swedish Apple, I have made it for my friends who have come over to play bunco, dominoes and bridge and they all love it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


TwitterRSS

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

FoodieBlogRoll

CookEatShare


